Paella on the Grill

I found the best way to cook paella for my too-big-for-the-stove paella pan. I used my mom’s grill, and was able to attain even heat for the whole pan, allowing the rice to cook evenly. First, I rounded up the usual suspects. We even used the side burner to heat our stock for the first time:

I browned the chicken, then removed to a dish and put the rice, soffrito, chorizo and stock in the pan, then nestled the chicken legs in the paella. I used a medium-high heat to reach the perfect simmer.

I used 1 1/2 cups rice to 6 cups stock and it was the perfect amount. When almost finished cooking, (when the rice has absorbed all the liquid and crispy bits are forming on the bottom of the pan) I added the shrimp, let them cook for a couple minutes, then served!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dinner, Look n' Cook, Paella, Spanish. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Paella on the Grill

  1. BEAUTIFUL!!! Why didn’t you call us? We coulda made quick work of it!

  2. Ma che buona! Brava! Bravissima!!!

  3. Toni Stokes says:

    It was so good. Nice place mats!

Leave a Reply

