More Fun With the Deep Fryer

I Had some French green beans I bought at the farmer’s market, and what better way to cook them than to deep-fry? I thought a beer batter might be nice, so I looked through my cookbooks and couldn’t find a single one. What do you do when you can’t find a recipe? Grab your Joy of Cooking – it will always be in there.

I blanched the beans before frying, but there were so thin it really wasn’t necessary – I will skip that step next time. Drop them in the batter, then drop them (carefully) in the fryer and remove to a parchment or paper towel lined plate when they reach a nice golden brown. If you crowd too many beans in the fryer, they will stick together and you will end up with a green bean funnel cake (which is OK too).

I made a quick smoked paprika aioli by combining some mayo, lemon juice, white pepper, salt, and jarred Spanish ailioli. The jarred ailioli is very thick and rich with garlic that I like to mellow it out with the mayo and lemon. This dip is super easy and fantastic. It is great with fries, with crudite, and great when dolloped on paella.

Joy of Cooking beer batter:

Stir together in a large bowl:
1c. AP flour
2 t. salt
1/2 t. cayenne
Whisk in:
3/4 c. beer
1/2 c. milk
2 large eggs

Coat the beans, let excess drip off, fry in vegetable at 365 degrees until golden brown.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Look n' Cook. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Fun With the Deep Fryer

  1. Cat says:

    Where are you finding alioli? I’ve been trying to find some for a while. The place where I used to get it hasn’t had it for a long time 😦

Leave a Reply

