First Tomato

The other day we found a this cute little red tomato on one of my tomato plants all ready to eat! My three tomato plants have been growing very quickly (one is taller than me!) and there are some little green tomatoes forming, but this little guy is the first fully ripe one. I made a crostino (singular for crostini, BTW) with fresh mozzarella, basil, the tomato, olive oil and salt. A perfect appetizer to welcome the summer.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Tomato

  1. Love it! What a beautiful thing. With the first tomato you know summer is on its way.

  2. What a juicy, tasty looking tomato! I am still waiting for mine.

  3. OrganiCat says:

    Happy Summer!! I didn’t think I’d be able to grow much of anything on my patio until yesterday, I saw my nextdoor neighbor’s patio and the beautifully lush tomato plant it held!! Next year, tomatoes. This year…hmm, I have some squash seeds!

    It’s on!!
    C@

Leave a Reply

