First Big Quilt Finished!

I started this quilt back in December. I used a design from the book Block Party. I made 25 12″x12″ blocks. The blocks are strips of patterned fabric with the grey used as the backround. This modern style of quilting can be a bit improvisational and free form. I was able to cut and sew the strips without much measuring and planning, as long as I cut down the finished block to 12″x12.” Then I sewed 5 blocks together on the sides, until I ended up with 5 long panels, then sewed those together.

I took the grey fabric, and pieced it to some of the pink fabric and a couple of the prints to form a simple back piece. I quilted sort of a corner/right angle design. This part was a little harder than I thought it would be. It is a little difficult not to zone out with stitching these lines – it is important to use the previous line as a guide so the next one does not get wavy or too far from the previous one. Next time I will use the chalk to draw more lines as a guide. The more I look at this quilt, the more I prefer the backside! It was fun to make though, and the size was a challange, but now I feel confidant that I am ready for a queen size quilt!

This entry was posted in Sewing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Big Quilt Finished!

  1. Wow! Brava! That is tremendously gorgeous, and so neatly executed. Nice work. Bree. What is next? BTW, we have a king size bed. Just in case you were wondering…

Leave a Reply

